The BAD


THE SKINNY COW AINT SO SKINNY? Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sandwiches

Well, in my recent search for a healthier alternative to a dessert that was deep into tasting delightful but also didn’t backfire my way to healthy living, I came across something.

Of course everyone knows the well talked about Skinny Cow brand for their luscious treats, low cal, very low fat, and even filled with fiber!

Recently I was shopping at Costco and was excited to find that they had the Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches in bulk for once, of course I had to buy it.

As I went home with my husband we wanted to give them a try. My husband was happy to see the whole sandwich was only 150 calories and 2 grams of fat.

Needless to we were excited to enjoy something so delicious that wouldn’t kill us. BUT……..

I proceeded to look at the back of the wrapper as we were almost done trying them out and my heart sank.
“What is THIS?” “High fructose corn syrup?????” It is mentioned 2 times in the ingredients. We were shocked to find this and disappointed.
If you know anything about high fructose corn syrup it is a really bad sugar/additive that is put in literally EVERYTHING.
Mostly junk food but if you aren’t careful enough to read the labels it may sneak up on you like it did me!
Here we are thinking we are having a great low cal and low fat treat and yet it’s filled with this manmade sugar that prevents you from losing weight.

It not only prevents you
from losing weight but the high fructose corn syrup is created to become an addiction, when you eat it the manmade sugar it makes your body crave more.

Yeah, kind of like
someone that is addicted to cocaine. Companies are not necessarily trying to help you lose weight but they are simply just selling you a PRODUCT trying to make you think you
are doing well. They just want your money & see a great market and push LOW CAL, LOW FAT….and oh yeah….manmade killing sugar that causes diabetes.

All in all we have to read our labels and be aware of what we are putting inside of our bodies. The companies probably expect you to not look at the rest of the ingredients

because they make the big hype of the low calories and fat. Don’t be fooled, do your homework and don’t be lazy looking at what you are eating.

This was such a downer for me because I love everything from Skinny Cow but I am going to continue now to check all their candy/bars/other ice cream to see if it is in there

as well. If so, this can really only be a treat once in a great while.

Also, we even found in the ingredients that there is BLEACHED wheat flour, meaning there was chemicals used in the process of the sandwich = not good!

Which is why we put this in our BAD category. Sorry Skinny Cow, but this item wasn’t so Skinny!

What to have instead? No High Fructose Corn Syrup

TRY ANY OF THESE:

http://www.tastethedream.com/


http://ciaobellagelato.com/


http://www.target.com/p/JELL-O-Dark-Chocolate-Mousse-6pk/-/A-12954968

4 thoughts on “The BAD

  1. Nice Post. If you are looking for some good ice cream, that is good for you too, then NOTHING beats Arctic Zero! I actually plan on writing about it on my site in a little while.

    • Thank you very much! I’ve never heard of Arctic Zero, Im gonna check it out! Thanks! Well, I will check back on your page because I really want to see that post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

